Skip to content

three jewels

jewel aspect
buddha enlightenment
dhamma truth
sangha purity

The Three Jewels of Buddhism are the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha.

  • The Buddha is the awakened one who has shown the path to liberation from suffering.
  • The Dharma is the teachings of the Buddha, which provide guidance on how to live a moral and ethical life.
  • The Sangha is the community of Buddhist practitioners who support each other on the path to enlightenment.

Taking refuge in the Three Jewels is a way of expressing one's commitment to the Buddhist path. It is a recognition that the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha are sources of wisdom, guidance, and support.

In Chung Tai Buddhism, the Three Jewels are seen as embodying the following qualities:

  • The Buddha embodies compassion and wisdom.
  • The Dharma embodies truth and understanding.
  • The Sangha embodies harmony and unity.

By taking refuge in the Three Jewels, Buddhists are committing themselves to cultivating these qualities in their own lives.

The Three Jewels are also seen as representing the three aspects of the path to enlightenment:

  • The Buddha represents enlightenment itself.
  • The Dharma represents the path to enlightenment.
  • The Sangha represents the support that is needed to walk the path to enlightenment.

By taking refuge in the Three Jewels, Buddhists are expressing their commitment to walking the path to enlightenment and to helping others do the same.