Four Brahmaviharas

Brahma Abodes,’ (Brahmaviharas) or Four Immeasurable Minds — love, compassion, joy, and equanimity.” Love in Sanskrit is maitri; in Pali it is metta. Compassion is karuna in both languages. Joy is mudita. Equanimity is upeksha in Sanskrit and upekkha in Pali. A vihara is an abode or a dwelling place. The Four Brahmaviharas are the abodes of true love. This address is much greater than a four-star hotel. It is a 1,000-star dwelling. The Four Brahmaviharas are called “immeasurable,” because if you practice them, they will grow in you every day until they embrace the whole world. You will become happier, and everyone around you will become happier, also.”

Excerpt From
The Heart Of The Buddha’s Teaching
Hanh, Thich Nhat

Heart of the Buddhas teaching


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *